About the Award

The African of the year award was initiated in 2008 to recognise and reward, exemplary Africans for their extra-ordinary contribution to human development in any part of the continent, and in any sphere of human endeavour. The award is promoted by Daily Trust, one of Nigeria’s leading independent newspaper, in fulfilment of the newspaper's commitment to African unity and sustainable development across the continent.

Candidates for the award are shortlisted from a pool of nominees whose profiles and records of contribution have gone through a rigorous process of screening.

The award consists of three components, namely, a permanent plaque, a certificate of merit and a US$50, 0000 cash reward in aid of the awardees’ charity project. The eventual winner is selected by a seven-member prize committee chaired by Dr. Salim Ahmed Salim, former Prime Minister of Tanzania and ex-scribe of the Organization of African Unity (now African Union).

Other members of the Committee who represent Africa's regional blocs are: Ambassador Mona Omar (North Africa), Mr. Amadou Mahtar Ba (West Africa), Ms. Gwen Lister (Southern Africa), Mr. Pascal Kambale (Central Africa) and Professor Sylvia Tamale (East Africa). The Chairman of the Board of DAILY TRUST, Mr. Kabiru Yusuf represents the award promoters.

Now in its 8th edition, the maiden award for 2008 went to Dr Denis Mukwege, a Congolese Gynaecologist and humanitarian surgeon. This was in recognition of his risky advocacy against the prevalent use of mass rape as a weapon of war in Democratic Republic of Congo, DRC, and his offer of free reconstructive gynaecological surgeries to rape victims in the war-torn central African country.

The subsequent awards have been won by the late Dr. Tajudeen Abdulraheem (2009), Mr. Danny Jordan (2010), Judge Mrs. Fatimata Bazeye (2011), Mr. Thabo Mbeki (2012) and Dr. Donald Kaberuka (2013). The 2014 award was skipped owing to the prevalence of Ebola disease in parts of Africa while Mr. Gregoire Ahongbonon emerged winner of the 2015 award.

Some of the distinguished personalities who had served on the Prize Committee chaired by Dr. Salim are: Prof. Abdoulaye Bathily, Prof. Tandeka Nkiwane, Ms. Muthoni Wanyeki, Prof. Okello Oculi, Dr. Obadiah Mailafia, Prof. Kwame Karikari, and the late Dr. Tajudeen Abdulraheem.

Prize Committee

The prize committee is chaired by Dr. Salim A. Salim (former Prime Minister of Tanzania and ex-scribe of African Union, AU). Other members are appointed from Africa’s regional blocs.

Salim Ahmed Salim


Tanzanian diplomat who has worked in the international diplomatic arena since the early 1960s.

Kabiru A. Yusuf

DailyTrust Representative

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive officer of Media Trust Limited.

Amadou Mahtar Ba

West Africa

CEO of African Media Initiative, Co-Founder & Executive Chairman of AllAfrica Global Media Inc,

Gwen Lister

Southern Africa

Namibian journalist, publisher, apartheid opponent and press freedom activist.

Mona Omar

North Africa Rep.

Career diplomat with the Egyptian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and a consumate educationist.

Pascal K. Kambale

Central Africa

Congolese human rights lawyer, Director, country office of OSISA in DRC and Deputy Director, AfriMAP.

Sylvia Tamale

East Africa Rep.

Leading African feminist lawyer and scholar at Makarere University in Kampala, Uganda.

Award Timeline

  • 30 September
    • Call for Nomination/Entries: 1st July- 30th September 2016.
  • 18 January 2017
    • Award presentation/Dinner at Hilton Hotel Abuja: January 18,2017.


The search is on. Help us find that ordinary African doing extra-ordinary things andwho is worthy of the 2016 DAILY TRUST African of the Year Award.
Fill the nomination form below to nominate a suitable candidate.

The Criteria

  • Only Citizens of African Countries are eligible for nomination.
  • The nominee’s activities for which s/he is nominated Must be exemplary and significant to African.
  • The contributions can be in any sphere of human endeavours but should be on impact across African boarders.
  • The nomination should be based on actions, events or works that have taken place between October 1, 2015 and September 30, 2016.
  • Meeting of prize committee/ selection of winner: 2nd week in November.
  • Nomination Must be submitted before or at midnight September 30, else it becomes invalid.

Nomination Form

Your details
Nominee details

Photographs of Events

Danny Jordaan

2010 Award night

Salifou Fatimata Bazeye

2011 Award night

Donald Kaberuka

2013 Award Night

Presentation of Prize Money

2013 Award Night

Thabo Mbeki

2012 Award Night

Dennis Mukwege

2008 Award Night

Thabo Mbeki's Acceptance Speech

2012 Award Night

2008 Award Presentation

2008 Award Night

Past Awardees

Contact Information

Media Trust Nig. Ltd
20, P.O.W. Mafemi Crescent, Off Solomon Lar Way,
Utako District, Abuja, FCT
Email: award@dailytrust.com